Healthier Blueberry Muffins

I really love breakfast, however, I rarely have time in the morning to make myself the type of breakfast I would love to eat- eggs, bacon, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice. Whenever I am in a rush and pick up breakfast while I am out, I love to get muffins! I figured why not do my own take on a healthier muffin that I can quickly grab when I am in a rush. This bluebery muffin was delicious and moist!

IMG_5503

I love baking and forcing my family members to eat what I make, usually no force necessary lol. And because I try to live a healthier lifestyle I am always looking for substitutes to make the the recipe healthy and simple. Although sometimes I probably could substitute more, usually when I decide to make something I go off what I have in my pantry and just make that work!

Here are my Healthier BlueBerry Muffins:

Blueberries seem to be in season now and my local food store was having major sales. It’s great to bake with blueberries because you do not have to worry about if they are a little soft.

Streusel Ingredient:

  • 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon light agave nectar (optional)

Muffin Ingredient:

  • 2 cups fresh blueberries (you can use frozen but no need to defrost)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk (maybe a little more if batter is dry)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare muffin cups with paper liners. This recipe makes about 12 muffins. I had a little extra so I made a few mini muffins.
  2. Make Streusel topping by combining oats, butter, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and agave in a small bowl. Mix well and put to the side.
  3. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. (dry ingredients)
  4. In a smaller separate bowl beat the egg then add milk, vanilla, and oil.
  5. Slowly pour wet ingredients into the dry ones a little at a time and stir for 10 seconds. The batter will have lumps, do not over mix – muffins will be tough.
    IMG_5488
  6. Once batter is mixed add blueberries until evenly mixed through. Carefully spoon batter into muffin tins. I used a tablespoon and put about three heaping spoonfuls in each muffin.
    IMG_5490
  7. Once muffin batter is in tin, take the streusel topping and carefully distribute on top of muffins. I put streusel topping on half of my muffins.
    IMG_5493
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until muffins are cooked through. Stick a toothpick in to see if the center is clean.
    IMG_5495
  9. Enjoy!
    bbmuffin
    Recipe was adapted from http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/bakingdesserts/r/blueberrymuf.htm
One thought on “Healthier Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

