Simple Cold Peanut Noodles

Simple Cold Peanut Noodles with Summer Vegetables

cold peanut noodles

One of my favorite things to order at a chinese restaurant is cold peanut noodles. Sometimes I wonder what they put in the noodles to make them taste so good.. and then I tell myself..don’t think about that. These are a treat for me and I decided to try and make Cold Peanut Noodles and lighten them up a bit by adding raw carrots and red bell peppers with a light peanut sauce.

If you are craving the delicious tastes of chinese food but don’t want to order then you should defintely try making these noodles. This was my first time making the cold peanut noodles and I really liked them. This is inspired by a recipe I saw that had raw summer vegetables included in the noodles. I loved that idea. For the peanut sauce I followed this recipe. A new blog I found that I really like.

You can add any raw veggie you have on hand. I used match stick carrots and red bell pepper because it’s what I had on hand. But shredded raw cabbage, cucumber, bean sprouts, and even baby corn would be delicious. Try them out if you love chinese take out!

Here’s what you need:

  • 8 oz of thin spaghetti or chinese noodles
  • 3 tablespoons of peanutbutter
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 3/4 lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon sesamie oil
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • dash of red chili flakes
  • pinch of sesame seeds
  • assortment of raw vegetables if you wish

What to do:

  1. Start with cooking the pasta according to your box.
  2. While pasta is cooking prep your vegetables into match sticks or however you desire.
  3. Next make the sauce: combine place peanut butter, soy sauce, lime juice, sesamie oil, garlic, and chili flakes in a bowl. Add 3 tablespoons of water and mix until sauce is smooth. Just keep mixing it will turn into the right consistency. Leave aside.
    image
  4. Once pastas is finished cooking to Adlente drain the water and make sure pasta is cooled down.
  5. Add the sauce when your ready to serve or a little at at time if you want it to stay fresh. Add however many raw veggies you would like on top and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Serve cold or warm. If you put the noodles in the fridge with the sauce it will absorb into the pasta. To avoid this keep sauce on side or make an extra batch to serve on top when you are ready to eat. Enjoy!

image

 

 

6 thoughts on “Simple Cold Peanut Noodles

  1. Rachel August 5, 2014 / 5:32 PM

    This looks great! Did you use Udon or soba noodles? Just tried making my own spring rolls last week and they were super easy! Glad I found your blog I am always looking for other college cooks in the blog world!

    -Rachel

    • HealthyHappy August 6, 2014 / 10:50 AM

      Hey Rachel! Next time I will definitely use udon or soba noodles. The only reason I didn’t is because I only had thin spaghetti on hand when I was making this. I’m sure it would be delicious with udon or soba though. I’ll check out your spring rolls too! Thanks for stopping by.
      Hunter

  2. lose weight click August 18, 2014 / 6:07 AM

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this subject, but you sound
    like yoou know whgat you’re talking about! Thanks

  3. Helen September 19, 2014 / 10:38 AM

    Very nice post. I absolutely appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

