Weeknight Sausage & Peppers

Sausage & Peppers Served with Wild Brown Rice.
sausage and peppersDuring the week I am always trying to find meals that are quick and easy or can even be made in advance. It seems that if I don’t I find myself going to bad habits such as ordering in unhealthy foods. Like pizza! If I have a healthier option I would rather eat that but sometimes there just isn’t enough time to cook during the week!

This recipe was made for meal prep purposes. On the nights that I work until 8 o’clock I have no desire to cook when I get home. I find that prepping my meals ensures that I will eat the right foods.

Serve this meal with a green salad and you will have a delicious, quick weeknight meal.

This sausage and pepper recipe is so easy and you could add chicken stalk or a can of diced tomatoes to spice this up. I kept it pretty basic and it’s still delicious.

What you need:

  • 1 package of Italian turkey sausage about 6 sausages
  • 4 cups of sliced bell peppers (I used red green and yellow)
  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
  • 1 cup of wild brown rice cooked according to package

What to do:

  1. 1. Preheat one smaller saute pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil and one larger with 2 tablespoons olive oil.
  2. Once hot add Italian sausage to the small pan and cover. Cook until brown on each side. About 5-10 minutes. Remove from pan and slice on a cutting board. It’s okay if the sausage is still a little pink on the inside because we will add it to the pepper mixture.
  3. While sausage is cooking add bell peppers to larger saute pan with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning.
    sausage and peppers
  4. Add sliced sausage to the bell peppers and cook for another 5-7 minutes with lid on. You want to cook until the sausage is no longer pink and bell peppers are still a little tender.
    sausage and peppers
  5. Enjoy and split portions into containers with a little bit of brown rice in each one.
    Refrigerate and eat as needed. Can be reheated in microwave.
Leave a Reply

