The Best Flour-Less Brownies!

Black Bean Brownies
Black Bean Brownies

These brownies have no flour and no butter…but they are amazing! Get ready for the secret ingredient – black beans! 

Yes, you heard that right. The main ingredient in these Amazing Brownies from SkinnyTaste is black beans. I was a bit skeptical myself as well but decided to go ahead and give it a try, and I am so glad that I did. These brownies are my new favorite dessert, I have made them twice since finding the recipe!
flour-less browniesSo your first question you are asking yourself is – does this taste like beans? No it does not taste like beans at all. All you get is a sweet chocolatey flavor that is enhanced by the instant coffee and semi-sweet chocolate chips! I love them because they almost have a cake like texture that is very satisfying if you have a major sweet tooth like me! Black beans are good for you and this is a good way to sneak them into your diet!

 

 

The true test is always the kids. My sister gave one of these brownies to my nephew before I had even told her what they were made of - she assumed a regular brownie. He ate one... and then another.. and another. Later, I asked her if he tried the brownies and she said yes. I said causally said: "oh, those are made of black beans". She was shocked! I told my nephew and he didn't care, he wanted to bring them to his friends in his class ( he is 5)!

What you need:

  • A food processor
  • (14 oz) can of low-sodium black beans drained and rinsed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon oil
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened almond milk or skim milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground coffee or instant coffee
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, divided

What to do 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan generously with a non-stick spray.
  2. In a food processor blend the beans, eggs, cocoa powder, sugar, oil, milk, vinegar, baking powder, baking soda, and instant coffee. Blend until it is the texture of a smooth batter make sure there are no bean lumps. Then fold in half a cup of the chocolate chips.
  3. Pour batter into baking dish and sprinkle remaining chocolate chips over the top of the pan.
    flour-less brownies
  4. Place in oven for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool and then slice into squares.
    flourless brownies
  5. Enjoy!!!
5 thoughts on “The Best Flour-Less Brownies!

    • RebeccaHunter February 9, 2015 / 11:07 AM

      they are soo good! Thanks for commenting!

  1. Julie Yates February 10, 2015 / 8:36 AM

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I am so going to try it!

Leave a Reply

