Mixed Berry and Banana Smoothie

mixed berry and banana smoothie

Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries, Blackberry and Banana Smoothie

So many berries!! This Mixed Berry and Banana Smoothie has 4 different berries in it. That’s thanks to Trader Joe’s. The organic mixed berry blend is picked at the peak of ripeness and frozen within hours of picking. I love this bag of mixed berries because you don’t have to choose or buy expensive fresh fruit that goes bad the next day. There is a little bit of each berry when I make my smoothie and it tastes delicious!

I think we all enjoy making smoothies but for the past month I haven’t really felt like making them. Last week, I was inspired when I picked up a container of fresh raspberries from the store that looked amazing (not old and rotten). I also probably didn’t feel like making smoothies because the weather has been so cold all month. Just another reason to be happy when winter ends, more delicious and colorful smoothies.

This is a fun recipe and I use greek yogurt so the smoothie is a little thick – I used almond milk to thin it out (I prefer a thiner smoothie).

What you need:

  • 1 cup of Trader Joe’s organic mixed berries
  • 1 small banana
  •  7 oz container of vanilla or plain greek yogurt  (or 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup of milk (skim or almond, more if needed to thin out)
  • chia seeds for topping
  • fresh raspberries for top if desired

What to do:

  1. In a blender combine 1 cup of frozen berries, small banana, greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of milk until is smooth and reaches desired consistency
  2. In a cup put a few ice cubes and pour smoothie over it. Top with raspberries and chia seeds.
    mixed berry banana smoothie

The colors are just so pretty. 

Enjoy!

p.s. I put a little chopped up banana on top as well.

5 thoughts on “Mixed Berry and Banana Smoothie

  1. My Kitchen Drawer March 9, 2015 / 5:58 PM

    Sounds yum! Your smoothies look delicious. I love those bags of frozen berries, a great alternative to ice cubes to keep the drink cold. Whenever I buy fresh berries I just add the spares to the frozen bag to keep it topped up.

  2. my cosy kitchen March 10, 2015 / 7:06 AM

    That looks like a real kickstart of the day! Great colors and lovely picture. Instead of bying my fruits frozen I buy them in their highseason and freeze them so when that time comes around after winter, it is getting a little warmer and you feel like a smoothie (just as you described!)? I have all I need ready in my freezer! I wrote a post on the freezing thing since I always got stuck with a big lump of fruit…. am I the only one ? http://mycosykitchen.com/2015/02/26/kitchenhacks-freezing-fruits-and-veggies/
    ps Ofcourse I clicked FOLLOW. Your blog looks very appetizing!

  3. peeledwellness March 11, 2015 / 11:23 AM

    such a pretty picture! this looks so refreshing. Is it weird that the little hairs on raspberries always bothered me as a child? I’ve since overcome the aversion but I’ll never forget…
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    • RebeccaHunter March 11, 2015 / 11:35 AM

      Thank you! No it’s not weird! They bother me also! But I just try not to look to hard and always wash them!
      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

